Es-CA-pe! From Side-Control!

I wanted to commit this to writing before I go to jiu-jitsu class tonight. It’s been rumbling in my brain and perhaps getting these thoughts out would help me in actually implementing my side-control escapes. But we’ll see after tonight’s class if this turns out to be helpful or if I’m just full of utter failure for the time being.

After racking my brain for the longest time, and searching the internet for an example of it, I finally found the last piece of my side-control escape routine. It’s the same one I did before I got injured.

First it starts with the knee-elbow escape. It’s the escape of escapes. Tons of jiu-jitsu theory and concepts – bumping, hip movement, creation of space – come from the knee-elbow escape. It’s the one we all learn, and even though it’s the first escape that’s easily countered, it’s an escape we should never neglect.

If the knee-elbow escape fails, my second escape to attempt has been up to now split between two other choices. Either the spinout escape or I’ll come to my knees. Before I always went up to my knees.

What I forgot until recently is that if my first attempt fails, I need to do an immediate second escape. Bump, escape and if that escape ain’t working, bump and work another escape. If should be done before top player can re-establish side-control as simple as that sounds.

Up until now I’ve let things slide. Dude’s passing my guard. He’s got side-control. Let’s escape! He’s fighting it. Now he’s recovered side-control. Let’s try the second escape!

Nah, that wasn’t working for me. I’m thinking it should be like; Dude’s passing my guard. He’s got side-control. Let’s escape! He’s fighting it – BUMP! and try the second escape!

Path of least resistance and all that.

I also forgot a third option I used in conjunction with this knee-elbow escape > second escape pattern and found it to be a high percentage escape. The escape was buried deep in my hazy 2 year absence from jiu-jitsu style thinking brain and deep in the old posts of Shogun HQ where Christian spent time at New York training with Gunner Nelson and Ronin Athletics. At the 1:37 mark.

It was an escape that I remembered worked well for me when things didn’t go right and from there I’d work hard to get back to closed guard or a collar choke or a sweep, which should be things to work for in the first place.

Well, now I’m armed with a full but old arsenal side-control escapes. I’m not expecting too much, I’m nowhere near the practitioner I was before, but it’s time to put these techniques and my escape method to the test.

Leave a Reply

