Weight Training – June 16th

Sam was busy so it was solo weight training today.

Just Tell Me ‘Bout Them Lifts, Bro
Deadlifts 5×5, front squats 3×5, lunges and reverse lunges 2×5, and hip exercises.

I should be doing more upper body and shoulder exercises but it’s been a week since the last time I went to the gym and I find the time away takes a huge chunk off of my progress. My deadlifts were the only thing I could maintain, my progress in my other exercises and target areas have stalled.

Pro tip: if you want to slow down and possibly set yourself back, skip out on a day.

Cool Stories for Ya, Bro
Going to the gym provides a ripe opportunity to witness strange behaviour. Far more stranger than anyone I’ve encountered training in the martial arts. Almost.

The Narcissist
In Japan the word narcissist – typically seen in katakana as「ナルシスト」- has a deluted meaning. More akin to being poking fun at others than anything else. There’s was an older gentleman training who would fit the Japanesey term perfectly.

He looked to be in his late 50s/early 60s, sported a lifting belt and wore the classic far too tiny pumping-iron tank top which he didn’t come close to filling out.

After every set, no matter what exercise he did, he flexed his biceps, chest and quads in front of the mirror. Sometimes he’d do them right in front of me while I was doing my lunges. Sheesh. Way to make me lose count.

The Bicep Guy
Yup, you know him. The bicep guy. That’s all he does. Seated bicep curls, db bicep curls, barbell bicep curls. Several sets.

The only difference is this guy was pulling 9 kg at the most. Oh no, wait. He was curling a 10 kg barbell, that’s heavier than 9 kg. Oh no, wait. That’s 10 kg shared over both arms.

ಠ_ಠ See that? That look of disapproval is for you bicep guy.

Let’s hope I run into them next week. I’ll try to strike up a conversation and see what’s up with them. Whee! Gym is fun!

Leave a Reply

